
Rule Topic Rule Number Comment Reply

Public Comment 20.07.02.040

15 days is already problematic for -the public- to be both informed and to formulate a response to anything; 
making it 10 days is like making it none.  That extra 5 days is nothing for the industry; for a private 
commenter (whose jobs -aren't- to do with gas&oil industry or administration), it's a major difference.  
Please do NOT reduce any public commenting or notification period!

Public comment period is now defined in Idaho Code § 47-316(1)(c) as ten (10) days.  Reductions 
from fifteen days to ten days aligns Rule with statutory requirements.  Revision remains.

Geophysical Operations 20.07.02.100.02.g

It is absurd that only 6"+ diameter trees cut -without permission- would be compensated for to landowners.  
The author of this may have been thinking of woodlots, but in any other situation, any living tree that was 
purposefully -planted- by a landowner would cost big bucks to replace; they should -all- be compensated.  
(You could call it up to -1"- in diameter.  Many pricey nursery trees are that small.)

Permits for seismic operations do not grant any access rights to owners, operators, or 
contractors conducting seismic operations. Surface use is governed through a separate 
agreement or lease between the owner, operator, or contractor and the private landowner. 
These private parties are free to agree to terms of access, including limitations on disruptions to 
vegetation or landscaping. This rule is intended to set a minimum standard for tree removal and 
compensation but does not prevent the parties from agreeing to more restrictive standards. 

Permit to Drill, Deepen or 
Plug Back - Permit Denial

20.07.02.200.05
Keep the denial reasons as part of the Rule or they may not be enforced, or there might be a question at a 
later date.

a. Application fee was not submitted   - this is addressed in Idaho Code § 47-316(1) and IDAPA 
20.07.02.200.02                                                                                                                                                                         
b. Application is incomplete   - this is addressed in IDAPA 20.07.02.200.04                                                    
c. Failure to post required bonds  - this is addressed in IDAPA 20.07.02.220                                                   
d. Proposed well will result in a waste of oil or gas, a violation of correlative rights, or the 
pollution of freshwater supplies. - this is addressed in Idaho Code § 47-315 and Idaho Code § 47-
316(1)(b)     Department policy is to provide the reason for denial in a letter, citing the 
appropriate Statue or Rule as noted above.                                                                   The 
enumerated listing of reasons for which a  permit may be denied were removed because those 
requirements were already provided for in rule or statute. Added language to 20.07.02.200.01 
to clarify that permits may be suspended or revoked and applications denied, for failure to 
comply with these rules, the Act, or orders of the Commission or Department. 

IDAPA 20.07.02 Draft #1 Response to Comments (written and verbal) 04/26/2024

Well Treatments 20.07.02.210.03
Keep the denial reasons as part of the Rule or they may not be enforced, or there might be a question at a 
later date (same concern as 20.07.02.200.05)

a. Application does not contain the information in Subsection 210.01 of these rules  - self 
explanatory                                                                                                                                                                               
b. Application fee was not submitted -  this is addressed in Idaho Code § 47-316(1) and IDAPA 
20.07.02.200.02                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      
c.  Proposed well will result in a waste of oil or gas, a violation of correlative rights, or the 
pollution of freshwater supplies. - this is addressed in Idaho Code § 47-315 and Idaho Code § 47-
316(1)(b)  Department policy is to provide the reason for denial in a letter, citing the 
appropriate Statue or Rule as noted above.                                                                              Same 
comment as above and the language inserted into 200.01 covers all permits and applications 
issued under Subchapter C, including well treatment applications. 



Hydraulic Fracturing - 
Well Integrity

20.07.02.211.03
No doubt you wish to use "MIT" in place of "mechanical integrity test" here, since you're doing such with 
other acronyms in the Definitions.

Revision made, along with other instances of replacing "mechanical integrity test" with "MIT."

These Individual well surety bond rates are abysmally low for what they eventually -must- cover; and the 
Blanket bonds are therefore even more outrageously low... which requires -the taxpayers of Idaho- to fill in 
whatever is required.  It has nothing to do with the gas&oil company, except insofar as the surety insurance 
company decides that the company is a poor risk for the bond; it has everything to do with the reality of 
what it -is-, at some point, going to take to plug/reclaim a well - and they will -all- hit that wall at some time 
or another in our collective futures.  These projected prices are already -far- out of alignment with actual 
costs - and the costs of wages, materials (think cement - !), equipment/operation costs, etc. keep going up 
and up.

Following are quotes from several articles about the true costs of well plugging.  (Note that a great many of 
the abandoned wells referred to in these situations were likely not terribly deep and were surely mostly 
conventional wells.  Even when some modern fracked wells are factored in, the average true costs 
mentioned are WAY above the measly $10,000 each, or $5000 each for blanket bonds here.)

https://www.rff.org/publications/journal-articles/decommissioning-orphaned-and-abandoned-oil-and-gas-
wells-new-estimates-and-cost-drivers/ (2021)

"We analyze data from up to 19,500 wells and find that median decommissioning costs are roughly $20,000 
for plugging only, and $76,000 for plugging and surface reclamation. ... Each additional 1000' of well depth 
increases costs by 20%, ...natural gas wells are 9% more expensive than wells that produce oil..."

https://hydrocarbonwell.com/how-much-does-it-cost-to-plug-an-oil-and-gas-well/ (current plugging 

"Some took a couple weeks, some took several months.  Some cost $20,000.  Some cost over $1,000,000.  
These prices do not include reclamation or site prep if needed.  If you have a shallow well (less than 1000' 
deep), ...and the well was recently in production, you may very well get it plugged for $20,000-$25,000. ...If 
there is an obstruction (about 25% of the time), ...this usually increases the cost $20,000+."

https://www.denver7.com/news/local-news/colorados-costs-to-plug-abandoned-oil-and-gas-wells-shifting-

Bonding 20.07.02.220

In addition to the default bonding requirements listed in the rule, subsection .220.04 allows the 
Department to impose additional bonding requirements if the circumstances suggest that the 
proposed well poses a liability risk in excess of that normally expected. For instance, an 
exceptionally deep well may be subject to additional bonding requirements based on the 
increased costs of plugging and remediation expected. Comparison of benchmark states 
financial assurance requirements from Interstate Oil & Gas Compact Commission 2016 report, 
"State Financial Assurance Requirements"                Updated amounts for all states (shown in red 
below).                                                                                                                                   Alaska-  Surety 
or personal $100,000 minimum for single well, $200,000 minimum for a blanket bond covering 
all the operator's wells (20 AAC 25.025, 1999.)                                 Updated- Amount 1: $400,000 
per well for 5 wells, 6 to 20 wells $2,000,000 plus $250,000 for each well above 5 wells.  21 to 
40 wells $6,000,000, 41 to 100 wells $10,000,000, 101 to 1,000 wells $20,000,000, over 1,000 
wells $30,000,000.  The Commission has discretionary authority to raise bond amounts based 
on circumstances.                               
 Montana- did not report   Updated- single well 2,000 feet or less $1,500, single well 2,000 feet 
to 3,501 feet $5,000, single well greater than 3,501 feet $10,000; blanket bond for multiple 
wells $50,000.  The board has discretionary authority to increase single well bonds from $1,500 
to $3,000, $5,000 to $10,000 or $10,000 to $20,000 respectively, and blanket bonds from 
$50,000 to $100,000 (Administrative Rule 36.22.1308, amended 3/23/2007)                                                                                                                                                    
Nevada-  $10,000 minimum for first/single well, $50,000 minimum blanket bond covering all the 
operator's wells.  Nevada has discretionary authority to raise bond amount based on 
circumstances  (NAC522.230, 1989) No changes.                                                                                                            
North Dakota- letter of credit, surety, assignment of savings account or cash in the amount of 
$5,000 plus $1.00 per linear foot for single well  (15A NCAC 05h .1403, 2015); $50,000 for single 
well greater than 2000 feet (NDAC 43-02-03-15, 2014), $100,000 blanket bond for two to six  
non-producing wells  (NDAC 43-02-03-15, 2014)  No changes.  (Note: ND is not listed as one of 
the "benchmark" states, but it is more active than MT or SD)                       
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https://www.rff.org/publications/journal-articles/decommissioning-orphaned-and-abandoned-oil-and-gas-wells-new-estimates-and-cost-drivers/
https://hydrocarbonwell.com/how-much-does-it-cost-to-plug-an-oil-and-gas-well/
https://www.denver7.com/news/local-news/colorados-costs-to-plug-abandoned-oil-and-gas-wells-shifting-from-taxpayers-to-companies


"The ECMC estimates that well-plugging costs an average of $92,000."

https://coloradosun.com/2023/03/08/oil-gas-companies-plug-remediation-costs/ (2023; Colorado)

"The commission [COGCC] has calculated that the cost of remediating a well site is about $1000,000 and the 
cost of plugging a well, dependig on its depth, ranging from $10,000 to $40,000, with an average total of 
$120,000 per well."

https://apnews.com/article/business-environment-and-nature-climate-change-

"The cost to plug an orphaned well varies...  In North Dakota, where some wells are drilled to depths of 
more than 20,000', it can cost $150,000 to plug a single well and restore the land around it.  In Pennsylvania, 
the state budgets about $33,000 to plug each well."

https://wyomingtruth.org/blm-plan-would-hike-bond-requirements-on-oil-and-gas-drilling/ (2023)

"Under a proposal introduced [in summer 2023], BLM would raise the amount of money oil and natural gas 
operators would have to pay in bonds - from $10,000 to $150,000 for individual drilling leases..."

(And according to this, that change is imminent:  https://www.blm.gov/sites/default/files/docs/2024-
04/BLM-Final-Onshore-Oil-and-Gas-Leasing-Rule-General-Fact-sheet.pdf)

Accidents and Fires 20.07.02.302
Accidents and Fire - Local emergency services should be notified of -all- drilling activities!, and be given a 
copy of the gas&oil company's required emergency response plan.  A mere suggestion that the company 
"coordinates with" them is entirely too wimpy.

Coordination with local first responders is already occurring.  Rules also require the operator to 
make the emergency response plan available at the well for use and inspection. Emergency 
responders will have access to this plan.

Verbal notification is permitted for operations that the department is not required to witness.  
Plugging a well that is currently actively drilling is conducted with the drilling rig which is on site, 
so it is in everyone's best interests, including the public, to commence plugging operations as 
soon as possible.  502.04 through 502.06 describe the plugging requirements and subsequent 
plugging report to be filed within thirty (30) days which is sufficient for the record.  No changes.

Well Plugging - Plugging 
Dry Holes

20.07.02.502.03
Why on earth would you "require" written notification in 502.02 and then say here that only verbal 
notification is required? - that's ridiculous.  You need a paper trail, period, not person-to-person verbal 
MIS(perhaps)communication.

               
            

               
             

           
            

                           
                                                                                                                                      

              
                                            
                     

               
             

                                
                   

               
               

              
                                                                                                                                                           
              

             
                                                                                                                 

                
                  

                
                  

                                  

                                                                                                                                 
Oregon- did not report  Updated- single well less than 10,000 feet $25,000, greater than 10,000 
feet $50,000; blanket bond at a minimum of $150,000 with exclusions for wells with a gross 
annual production in dollars that is greater than the bond amount.  Blanket bond amounts are 
calculated based on the sum of the calculated individual bond amounts for each well, minus 
exclusions. (632-010-0205, updated 3/21/2013)                                                                                                                            
South Dakota-  single well 5,500 feet or less $10,000, blanket bond $30,000. Single well greater 
than 5,500 feet $50,000, blanket bond $100,000 (SD Codified Laws 45-9-15, 7/1/2013)  Updated-  
single well (any depth) $50,000; blanket bond $100,000.  Board has discretionary authority to 
require an additional $20,000 in surety for each well that is inactive or idle for more than six 
months.  (SD Codified Laws 45-9-15, 4/29/2021)                                                                                                                                                  
Utah- Surety, CD, letter of credit or cash in the amount of $30,000 for single wells less than 
10,000 feet  (R649-3-1.5, 2003); $100,000 blanket bond covering all the operator's wells (R649-3-
1.6, 2003)  Updated- single wells greater than 10,000 feet $60,000; blanket bond of at least 
$120,000 for wells greater than 1,000 feet, based on audited financial assessment of the 
operator.                                                                                                                                     Washington-  
did not report Updated- single well bond not less than $50,000, blanket bond not less than 
$250,000 (WAC General Rules 344-12-060)                                                                                                               
Wyoming-  Cashiers check, Surety, CD or letter of credit in the amount of $10 per foot for 
individual wells; $100,000 for all wells (Chapter 3, Section 4, 2016)  No changes.                       

https://coloradosun.com/2023/03/08/oil-gas-companies-plug-remediation-costs/
https://apnews.com/article/business-environment-and-nature-climate-change-7392636504b2763de07ff4b3fe78710e
https://wyomingtruth.org/blm-plan-would-hike-bond-requirements-on-oil-and-gas-drilling/
https://www.blm.gov/sites/default/files/docs/2024-04/BLM-Final-Onshore-Oil-and-Gas-Leasing-Rule-General-Fact-sheet.pdf
https://www.blm.gov/sites/default/files/docs/2024-04/BLM-Final-Onshore-Oil-and-Gas-Leasing-Rule-General-Fact-sheet.pdf
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